Home > Miscellaneous, Travel > Brazil Trip Part Six: Mammals

Brazil Trip Part Six: Mammals

Today’s post is not at all parrot-related, but I wanted to show some photos of the various wild mammals I saw in Brazil. I managed to see marmosets, capuchin monkies, howler monkies, capybaras, agoutis, three different deer species, white-collared peccaries, ring-tailed coatimundis, giant anteaters, a crab-eating fox and a giant river otter.

First off: the rodents! I saw quite a few capybara, which are the world’s largest rodents. They are fairly common in the Pantanal region, and there’s a  large herd of them at the Parque das Nacoes Indigenas in Campo Grande. They’re semi-aquatic so are often found near water and during the hottest part of the day they often stay partly submerged to keep cool. They are herbivores and spend a lot of time grazing on grass and aquatic plants. They do most of their grazing in the morning, late afternoon and evening. A group of capybara would gather after dark by the guest rooms at the lodge I stayed at in the Pantanal region. They would graze on the grass with the sheep and goats.

Capybara seen at the Parque das Nacoes Indigenas in Campo Grande

Capybara seen at the Parque das Nacoes Indigenas in Campo Grande

Capybara herd seen at the Parque das Nacoes Indigenas in Campo Grande

Capybara herd seen at the Parque das Nacoes Indigenas in Campo Grande

Capybara seen right outside my room at the Xaraes lodge in the Pantanal

Capybara seen right outside my room at the Xaraes lodge in the Pantanal.

The other large rodent I saw was the agouti, a smaller relative of the capybara. The below picture was taken at the Parque das Nacoes Indigenas in Campo Grande.

Rodent

Rodent2

And now for the primates! I didn’t get any decent pictures of the howler monkies I saw in the Pantanal, but I did get some of marmosets and a capuchin.

A marmoset I saw by the hotel I stayed at (Pousada Mandala) in Pirenopolis.

A marmoset I saw by the hotel I stayed at (Pousada Mandala) in Pirenopolis.

A pair of marmosets I saw in Pirenopolis. The owners of the hotel would put out little pieces of banana for the monkies to eat.

A pair of marmosets I saw in Pirenopolis. The owners of the hotel would put out little pieces of banana for the monkies to eat.

A capuchin moneky I saw at a nature sanctuary (Fazenda Vaga Fogo) near Pirenopolis.

A capuchin moneky I saw at a nature sanctuary (Fazenda Vaga Fogo) near Pirenopolis.

This last set of photos were taken in the Pantanal region.

A giant anteater.

A giant anteater.

A giant river otter eating a fish. I saw this guy several times during a canoe trip.

A giant river otter eating a fish. I saw this guy several times during a canoe trip.

A coatimundi. I saw several groups of these during the trip. They usually went into the woods when they spotted us.

A coatimundi, which is a relative of the raccoon. I saw several groups of these during the trip. They usually went into the woods when they spotted us.

Herding the cattle. There are lots of cattle ranches in the Pantanal region.

Herding the cattle. There are lots of cattle ranches in the Pantanal region.

A domestic buffalo.

A domestic buffalo.

And that’s it for mammal pictures! The next group will be of reptiles.

Related Posts in this series:

Brazil trip part one: Yellow-chevroned Parakeets and Peach-fronted Conures

Brazil trip part two: Nanday Conures and Blue-fronted Amazons

Brazil trip part three: Quaker parakeets

Brazil trip part four: Hyacinth and Greenwing Macaws, plus a bonus conure.

Brazil trip part five: other birds

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 1, 2009 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

