Home > Birds, Pet Parrots > Parrot Magazines

Parrot Magazines

Back to blogging! I have been too busy to do much writing during this last semester because I was teaching three classes and two labs at two different university campuses in two different cities. I barely had time to breathe. However, one of the classes was a fourth-year ornithology class I particularly enjoy teaching and had done before (the other two were new ones). I took Peggy to the first lecture and Ripley to the last lecture and they were quite popular.

I am going to continue to blog about parrots, but am going to start to write about the native birds of North America as well, since I really enjoy bird watching and photographing the wild birds of Alberta (where I live).

On the subject of parrots, my Green-cheek Conure mix, Chiku, was featured on the cover of Parrots magazine. I wrote an article for that issue on Pyrrhura conures.

182intro

I lifted the above image from the magazine publisher’s website. I plan to write a few more articles for Parrots this summer.

Unfortunately, a lot of specialty magazines for bird owners have quit publishing recently. Bird Talk stopped publishing a few months ago, and Good Bird stopped publishing this month. Good Bird had been an ‘online only’ magazine for a couple of years, but Bird Talk was always a printed magazine. I had been noticing that Bird Talk was progressively shrinking during its last few years of publication (which I didn’t like) but I’m still disappointed that it went under.

So, what’s left for parrot magazines? There’s Parrots magazine (www.parrotmag.com), which is based out of the UK, and a new one called In Your Flock (https://www.inyourflock.com/), which is based out of the US. I subscribed to the online version of In Your Flock since the publisher hadn’t specified a price for shipping to Canada. However, I recently received a paper copy of the latest issue, so that was a nice surprise.

There’s also Australian Bird Keeper (http://www.birdkeeper.com.au/), which is based out of Australia. Unfortunately, it is quite expensive for people outside of Australia due to shipping charges.

There are a few free online bird publications too. Copies of Parrot Life magazine can be downloaded at http://www.hagen.com/hari/welcome.html . There’s also the Winged Things newsletter – click HERE  to download April’s issue. There are instructions in the .pdf on how to subscribe and access past issues.

I’m sure I’ve missed things, so if anyone would like to add a link to a parrot-related publication, use the comments section (click the comments link at the top of the post) to let me know. Please do note that I have sporadic internet access this summer, which means it can take me time to approve comments.

Edit: Oh yeah, there’s also “Companion Parrot Online” (www.companionparrotonline) published by Sally Blanchard. It’s online now, but if you like paper magazines, you can order back issues.

To end this post, I am going to share a nice photo of a Mountain Bluebird I took last week. I’m working as an interpreter at Waterton Lakes National Park this summer and have been doing a lot of birding and hiking during my ‘off time.’

Mountain Bluebird

  1. June 6, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    Jessie, I absolutely love your blog and some great post here. I have a African grey and I love his company. Your insight has helped me a lot. Keep up the good work.

  2. November 16, 2014 at 6:21 am

    Cute bird & nice pic of Chiku! I also really like the Mountain Bluebird. I’ve never seen them before – not sure if they ever migrate through the Midwestern US – but that is a beautiful bird. Good eye!

    I totally understanding wanting to blog about native birds as well. I’m learning myself that blogging is an evolving task/hobby/interest/job in our lives. We might start on one topic then find ourselves really wanting to write about more and more! I can appreciate native bird talk especially as I try to get back into birdwatching myself (or so I keep saying :)).

    That said, I feel the pain of BirdTalk going under. They sent me a letter telling me they were going to finish my subscription off with issues of DogFancy. I was bummed especially since I’ve been subscribed on and off for decades! I had looked forward to their New & Notes section. I might add that the World Parrot Trust has a small publication they send monthly (do I have that right?) to their supporters in addition to a wealth of information on their website with members of course having more access. That’s the only one I can think of other than what you’ve listed; I am grateful for what you have listed here though as I haven’t heard of a couple of them. Will have to check them out…

    • November 16, 2014 at 5:38 pm

      Ah yes – the World Parrot Trust! They do have a nice magazine they sent out quarterly.

      • November 16, 2014 at 6:41 pm

        Quarterly! Yes, sorry I said monthly. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

